Home   Forums   Gallery   Vendors   Advertising   Links
Go Back   DieselRam.com > Diesel Ram Technical Topics > Technical Info: 3rd Generation: NON-DRIVETRAIN
Technical Info: 3rd Generation: NON-DRIVETRAIN Technical discussion of third generation (2003 - 2007) non drivetrain questions, solutions and upgrades. Please -- DO NOT post drivetrain discussions in this forum!
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-17-2014
Gary Thornton's Avatar
Gary Thornton Gary Thornton is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 869
Default Need better headlights

Any suggestions on how to go about getting better lighting?
Rigid Industries make LED light bars.
One can be mounted between the tow hooks.
There are fog light kits for about $150 too.
thanks
__________________
aka dogram


2 '05 2500 4x4,QC's 48RE,3.73,Limited Slip,Plow Prep,Linex,ROKK,Afe 2 & Amsoil fluids (Boss 9'2" V-blades )

#1 SMARTY cr(SW5),TOYO/AT2's 285-70/17E's,Quad Commander,TransGo shift kit,Prodigy,Fold-a-cover,60 gal RDS aux tank,Corsa exhaust,FASS95/95 3 micron,Mag-Hytec DD tran pan,Bilsteins.
Pull a Cameo 5er (8800 lbs empty)

#2 SUPERCHIPS flashpaq & TOYO/AT2's 285-70/17E's, MBRP
Knowledge: Truth apprehended
Understanding: Truth comprehended
Wisdom: Truth applied
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2014
coolbaldguy's Avatar
coolbaldguy coolbaldguy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: East TN
Posts: 241
Default

I put silverstar bulbs in my 03. I put them in the factory fog lights too. Also there is a way to make the factory fog lights stay on when the high beams are on. I found the better bulbs helped a lot. But lighting was still one of my biggest complaints about the truck.
__________________
2015 EcoDiesel 1500 Crew Cab 4x4
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2014
klmahnke's Avatar
klmahnke klmahnke is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Juneau, AK
Posts: 1,379
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolbaldguy View Post
Also there is a way to make the factory fog lights stay on when the high beams are on.
Can this be done without flashing the computer?
__________________
2005 Ram 2500 Quad Cab Laramie Short Bed 5.9l Cummins
2004 Ram 1500 Quad Cab SLT 5.7l Hemi V8
1998 Ram 1500 Quad Cab Sport 5.9l Magnum V8
1997 Ram 3500 Club Cab Dually SLT 5.9l Cummins
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-17-2014
J_R_R's Avatar
J_R_R J_R_R is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sooke, BC, Vancouver Island
Posts: 1,579
Default

Gary,
Check out:
https://www.lmctruck.com/

John
__________________
John
STOLEN: '98 Ram Dually quad cab; 4X4; auto with mystery switch; 4:10's; BHAF; 4" MBRP exhaust; 3K Governor spring kit; #5 plate; timing @15.5; 63/65/14 turbo; 90 hp injectors; Isspro pyro, boost & tranny temp gauges; DSS steering stabilizer; adjustable heavy duty track bar, Snow Water/Methanol Injection Tow-Max System.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-18-2014
coolbaldguy's Avatar
coolbaldguy coolbaldguy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: East TN
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by klmahnke View Post
Can this be done without flashing the computer?
Yes. There is a jumper wire that can be added under the dash....I did it so long ago I don't remember how I did it....I will look for the info and post it here
__________________
2015 EcoDiesel 1500 Crew Cab 4x4
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-18-2014
coolbaldguy's Avatar
coolbaldguy coolbaldguy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: East TN
Posts: 241
Default

This worked on my 04 and should for other years up to 06. I found the threads on the fog light jumper but that makes the fogs come on all the time without control of them and I did not want that. I made them come on with the high beams only. You still have control of them with the park lights and low beams, but when you switch on the high beams, the fogs come on. All you need is a relay.

Here is what I did: Remove the drivers headlight and the 2 light harnesses. Run a wire from the high beam wire, don't remember what color, I think it was either white/blue or white/green. Run that to pin 85 on the relay. Hook pins 86 & 87 to ground, and then pin 30 to pin 86 on the fog lamp relay in the fuse box (relay 62 I beleive).

Thats it, no lamp out lights either. When the high beams are activated so is the relay, sending a ground signal to the coil of the fog lamp relay, activating it. You can use small gauge wire for everything since it's all just signal wires with no loads, I used 16-18 gauge.




This is a copy of a how to thread on another forum. This is not the source I used to do mine but the instructions sound similar to what I did. Also my truck was an 03'
__________________
2015 EcoDiesel 1500 Crew Cab 4x4
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2016 www.dieselram.com. All material found on this site is property of DieselRam.com.Ad Management plugin by RedTyger