Home   Forums   Gallery   Vendors   Advertising   Links
Go Back   DieselRam.com > Diesel Ram Technical Topics > Technical Info: 2nd Gen 24 VALVE DRIVETRAIN
Technical Info: 2nd Gen 24 VALVE DRIVETRAIN Technical discussion of second generation (1998 - 2002) 24-valve engine and drivetrain questions, solutions and upgrades.

Old 07-18-2017

Default Exhaust brake vs airbox

Having an PRXB Pac-brake installed on my '01. Had KN cold air kit installed six years ago and mechanic called to inform me the brake compressor will not properly install with KN set up, the elbow and box are in the way. KN has no solution other than reinstall factory box back in (really?). I can get original elbow piece but that is still not guaranteed to work. Anybody had this problem or have sugestions? I am not good with modifying parts so looking for adaption ideas. Mechanic said truck is good to go for now but will need brace or support pieces soon. Thanks
2001 2500 QCSB 4X4, White, 5sp, 3.55 rear w/Dana 80 and posi-track, Dana 60 front, camper special. Rhino Bullbar and taillight protectors. Leer canopy.Westach Dual EGT Gauge and Boost Guage. KN cold air kit. Injectors have been extrude honed.
Old 07-18-2017

We have solved the clearance issue for now. Mechanic is happy so I feel better. Not sure of the method of the fix but when I pick it up tomorrow I will post what was done for anyone else facing similar problem......
2001 2500 QCSB 4X4, White, 5sp, 3.55 rear w/Dana 80 and posi-track, Dana 60 front, camper special. Rhino Bullbar and taillight protectors. Leer canopy.Westach Dual EGT Gauge and Boost Guage. KN cold air kit. Injectors have been extrude honed.
Old 07-18-2017

Ok, thanks. That should be some useful info.